Heraldry

As many of you who pay attention to Siar Fordell probably know, my interest in monarchy, nobility, and the military aristocracy also extends, somewhat as a result of this focus, to heraldry. The language, symbolism, and significance of heraldry appeals to me greatly, and I endeavor to use my own heraldry and its tenets in my daily life as much as possible – this being both my assumed ensign of the silver lion of Siar Fordell, and the official heraldry that I have been granted due to my service as a soldier. As part of this focus, I have developed new ways for heraldry and military symbolism to play a larger role. I designed and had manufactured a NATO style nylon watch band in the colors of the Iraqi Campaign Medal – this being a campaign I am extremely proud to have served in, it acts as a heraldic achievement. More importantly, the development and sale of these bands to other veterans and soldiers who fought in this campaign has acted to encourage these men and women to display and take pride in their own symbolism and heraldry. In much of American society a military veteran is thought of as uncouth, a thug, a brute, or a bearded tough who revels in his brutality and abilities… but there is such a thing as a gentleman soldier. A warriors who do their duty with pride, and a sense of honor and nobility. The British military has a long history of just this – with their traditions of Regimental Rep Ties, lapel pins, and formal traditions & organizations that I find decidedly lacking among American veterans. Indeed, it was the Guards Division NATO watch strap that inspired me to produce something of a similar style for American soldiers.

These days I wear a suit and a tie more often than a uniform and body armor, but the only way for a veteran to show his pride in service seems to be a moto t-shirt covered in skulls and profanity, or a operator cap with a Velcro flag on it. I wanted to change that, and show my pride of service in a subtle, but unmistakable way – at least to a student of heraldry.

I am also proud that other soldiers and veterans seem to share this opinion, as I am coming closer and closer to this being a profitable venture – all of which profit would then be reinvested into my estate holdings, of course, and benefit the Thegn-Hold of Siar Fordell, which exists in no small part, due to my military service.

Please see the link, and though I don’t anticipate many Iraqi Campaign Veterans to be perusing these forums, I do appreciate feedback and telling me what you think.

Iraq Campaign Medal NATO Watch Band

Leave a comment